Scientific panel


Scientific Panel

Leuka are delighted to announce the new members of our Scientific Panel:

Professor Dominique Bonnet, Francis Crick Institute, London.
Professor Jackie Boultwood, University of Oxford.
Professor Richard Clark, University of Liverpool.
Professor Francesco Dazzi, King’s College London. (Vice Chair)
Professor John Gribben, Queen Mary University of London.
Professor Olaf Heidenreich, University of Newcastle.

Professor Anastasios Karadimitris, Imperial College London.
Professor Ken Mills, Queen’s University Belfast.
Professor Emma Morris, University College Hospital, London.
Professor Katy Rezvani, MD Anderson Cancer Centre, Texas, USA.

Professor Nick Cross
Professor Nick Cross, Faculty of Medicine, University of Southampton. (Chair)

Nick Cross MA PhD FRCPath studied at the University of Cambridge, initially reading Natural Sciences and subsequently undertaking a PhD in the Department of Genetics. He started his postdoctoral career at the Hammersmith Hospital, London in 1987, where he developed an interest in chronic myeloid leukaemia under the mentorship of Prof John Goldman.

In 2001 he relocated to Salisbury to take up Directorship of the Wessex Regional Genetics Laboratory and Chair of Human Genetics at the University of Southampton. His research, which has resulted in more than 290 peer reviewed publications, focuses on the molecular pathogenesis of myeloid malignancies as well as the development, validation and standardisation of genetic tests.

Professor Tariq Enver Professor Tariq Enver, Cancer Institute Director, University College London.

Tariq Enver graduated from University College London’s Faculty of Life Sciences before completing a Ph.D. at Kings College London. His postdoctoral training took place in the Division of Medical Genetics at the University of Washington in Seattle where he went on to establish his own laboratory studying blood stem cells the critical entities in bone marrow transplantation.

He returned to London in the early 90s to join the Leukaemia Research Fund Centre at the Institute of Cancer Research twinned with the Royal Marsden Cancer Hospital in South Kensington where he later established the section of gene function and regulation and became Professor of Molecular Haematology.

In 2003 Professor Enver was appointed Director of Stem Cell Biology at the Medical Research Council’s Molecular Haematology Unit at the Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine in Oxford. Here he expanded his interest in the stem cell biology of cancer particularly in respect of childhood leukaemia.

Professor Enver joined UCL in 2010 as Head of the Department of Cancer biology and subsequently was appointed Vice Dean Research of the Faculty of Medical Sciences. Professor Enver currently directs UCL’s Cancer Institute and leads the Cancer theme of the Academic Health Sciences Centre which spans translational cancer activities across UCL and QMUL including the Barts Cancer Institute, the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine and the Francis Crick Institute.

Professor Enver is internationally renowned for his pioneering work on the genetic circuitry of stem cells, how this may be utilized in the context of transplantation and regenerative medicine and crucially how it is corrupted in the pathogenesis of cancer thereby opening up novel axes for the targeting of cancer cells. His international recognition includes election to the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO), the 1000 Talents program in China and a guest professorship at Lund University in Sweden.

Maria Figueroa Ass. Professor Maria Figueroa, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, Miami, USA.

Dr. Figueroa was born in Buenos Aires, Argentina. She received her MD from Universidad del Salvador, School of Medicine in Buenos Aires, Argentina in 1997 and after completing her internal medicine residency (1997-2000), she went on to train as a Hematologist at the Institute for Hematological Research “Mariano Castex” from the National Academy of Medicine in Buenos Aires, where she later joined the Malignant Hematology department.

In 2004 Dr. Figueroa joined Dr. Ari Melnick’s laboratory at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York, and later at Weill Cornell Medical College. During her postdoctoral training with Dr. Melnick, Dr. Figueroa‘s research focused on the characterization of epigenetic deregulation in myeloid malignancies, particularly Acute Myeloid Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndromes.

She has been the recipient of scholar awards from the SASS Foundation for Cancer Research, the American Society of Hematology, the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, as well as being the recipient of a University of Michigan Biological Sciences Scholar Award.

Dr. Figueroa joined the Department of Pathology at the University of Michigan Medical School in June 2011 as Assistant Professor, where she continues her work in the field of epigenetic regulation of normal and malignant hematopoiesis.

Dr Alan Burnett

Dr Alan Burnett, Global Lead for Myeloid Diseases, CTI Biopharma.

Professor Alan Burnett was trained at Glasgow University in the UK. He did postgraduate research in the Ben May Laboratory for Cancer Research, University of Chicago, IL, USA, and returned to Glasgow where he established the Stem Cell Program including the first CR1 Autografts in AML. He was appointed Chair of the Medical Research Council Adult Leukemia Working Party in 1989 and has acted as a coordinator of the MRC – 10, – 11, -12, -14, -15, -16 and -17 Trials. He was appointed Professor and Head of the Department of Hematology at the University of Wales College of Medicine (now Cardiff University) in 1992-2014. In 2002, the National Cancer Research Institute was established in the UK and Professor Burnett was appointed as Chair of the National Cancer Research Institute Hematological Oncology Study Group.

His main research interest is the development of treatments for Acute Myeloid Leukemia which has resulted in many publications. He has served on numerous advisory committees, and is past President of the British Society of Hematology and Chair of the UK National Training Program. He was elected as a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Science in 2002 and was awarded the Gold Medal of the British Society for Hematology in 2004 and was appointed as an MBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honors for services to Medicine in 2008, and received the Ham Wasserman Lecture award from the American Society of Haematology in 2012.